Adventures in Kindergarten Genius Hour: Week 2: Create a Driving Question/Statement

The topic is picked, now it’s time to narrow it down to a driving statement or question.

Day 1

Students were asked to draw or write what they are interested in about their topic. I asked questions to start them off like:

“What do you want to learn?”

“What do you want to become an expert in?”

“What do you wonder?”

Students draw, write, and explain their thinking to me. I ask and listen. Few words from me brings more from them. I take notes, label pictures, and start to see a focus narrowing in.

This is a very magical moment that’s very hard to explain. You just have to experience it. I’ve been asked before…

“What do you ask?”

“How do you know?”

“What do you say?”

My answer is this, you’ll know what to say in the moment. I don’t even know what I am going to say during each student led conference except, “What?” and “Why?”. When you listen intently the questions will come. It’s an authentic discussion with a student, and they too have to dig deep to explain to you their thinking. For some kids it may take a good 20 minutes to get to the big “ah ha” moment, yet other kids may be quick and direct. But when you finally get to that moment, you know.

Day 2

This is an extension of day 1. The difference is the students now are focused more on drawing exactly what they are thinking of making or learning about for the next 10 weeks. During day 2 you are continuing to take notes, draw up ideas in your head on how to help the student, and write down information for your own notes.

By the end of this week I have a single sheet of paper with every student’s driving statement/question for quick and easy reference.

So far so good two weeks in. It’s been fun to see their individual personalities come out. Some topics I knew right away certain students would choose, and others surprised me! We have a good set of topics that will hopefully lead to some amazing results.

And just like that we are on to the next challenge that I️ did not conquer much my first time around….teaching kindergarteners how to research their individual topics on their “own”!

Leave a comment